On Why You Should Not Play With Fire

When I was about 19, my best friend at the time and I were volunteer girl scout troop leaders.  It was so much fun, and I loved every minute of it.  Every minute, that is, except the time I accidentally burned my eyebrows off.  

It was a simple summer cookout.  We all went to the park to have our girl scout meeting and enjoy delicious grilled hot-dogs.  Yum!  I was somehow put in charge of lighting the grill.  As the park already had those built-to-last-all-weather-and-never-ever-fall-down, black, wrought-iron grills, the only things we needed were charcoal and lighter fluid.  Done and done.

Somehow, someway, it was determined that I was to be put in charge of starting the grill.  I had no idea what I was actually doing.

I put a fair amount of coals in the grill, poured some lighter fluid on, threw my match on, and presto!  Instant fire.  The grill was successfully started.  Yay, me!

 There were our hotdogs, sort of cooking, on the half-heartedly, flickering flame rising from the coals.  I know, I know, you are supposed to wait until the coals burn down, etc., but when you are feeding a crowd of hungry 6, 7, and 8 year old girls, you want to cook fast.

So, to cook faster, I decided I would just squirt more lighter fluid on the flame and the hot-dogs would cook faster.  Easy peasy.

I did not take into effect the fact that, well, that anything at allwould go wrong.  After all, my sister and I had been healthy pyromaniacs when we were younger; so I figured I had fire covered.

The giant ball of flame that erupted proved me wrong.

How many of you have seen this photo?

Anne Hathaway sans eyebrows is HORRIFYING!

You are all JUST as scared as I was when I first saw that, are you not?   Equally horrifying is a simple Google search of the terms “celebrities without eyebrows“.

The fireball that erupted came back into my face and burned off half of my eyebrows.  They have never fully grown back in.

Not QUITE as bad as poor Anne.

Every day I use a colored eyebrow pencil to fill them in to look normal.

Really makes a difference, eh?

And that is why you should not play with fire.

One thought on “On Why You Should Not Play With Fire

Leave a Reply

