On Why My Son Is Not Potty-Trained (A Tale of Poo)

I have not potty-trained my son, as of yet;  he is two-and-a-half.  Truth be told, I have no idea how to do it, and no inclination to try.

I know that diapers are expensive, and bad for the environment, and that simply part of growing up is learning how to be independent – using the toilet included.  But honestly, this is one hurdle I just do not think we are ready to tackle.  We, meaning mostly myself, and only a little bit Q.

For one, it is winter, and it seems like it would be easier to potty-train outside in the summer.  But I can just see that turning out horribly – with Q freely peeing on everything inside, as well.

“Look Mom!  I potty!”

“Greeeeat!  It’s on Cat, and the floor, and on the coffee table.”

I am pretty sure that is how that would go.

And for two, while I do not enjoy changing diapers, I find it a LOT easier than cleaning up poo and pee from other surfaces.

Nothing has made this more clear to me than the incident in the bathtub the other day.

I have said before that bath time is amazing, because when my child begins to annoy me, I can just put him in the bath.  When he is taking a bath, he is happy, and I am a good mom for making sure my child is clean.  It is a win-win situation.

Clearly, a happy camper!

When I get my son ready for bath time, we spend five or ten minutes running the water, getting the temperature and amount of bubbles just right, and filling the bath tub with however many cars Q thinks it takes to have a proper bubble demolition derby.  We also work together to take off one article of Q’s clothes at a time in between car drop-offs.  When Q is finally down to his diaper, in my one in-vain attempt to acclimate him to the toilet, I ask him if he has to go potty before getting in the bath.  “No.  I play cars.  I play bubbles.”  And in he hops.  But, once in a great while, he will hop up onto to his Bob the Builder seat, which sits on top of the normal seat, and “go potty”.

If this were MY potty seat, I think I would go potty all day!  

(Probably not.)

What really happens is that Q sits on the seat for five to ten seconds, gets off, and says he is “all done potty”.  Not a single drop goes into that toilet.

He then climbs into the bath one leg at a time, stands with his legs spread, and lets the stream out.  I can count on this 8 out of 10 times, although I think it is getting better.  Still, as annoying as it is, I would prefer he pee in the tub rather than on the floor.

And I would rather he pee anywhere, than poo in the tub.  Which is what he did a couple of weeks ago.  He was innocently playing and the next thing I knew, he was yelling “Mom!  Mom!  An icky!  An icky!”  And there WAS an icky; a floating, brown icky.

I realize that potty training would help with this.  I know it would.  He would be able to recognize his own bodily urges and handle them appropriately.

But until that day, I would rather deal with a dirty diaper over cleaning poo out of the bath water and off of any unfortunate toy cars left behind.

Car graveyard.  May they rest in peace.

4 thoughts on “On Why My Son Is Not Potty-Trained (A Tale of Poo)

  1. Ugh — My granson is 2 1/2 and potty training. He wants the Bob the Builder potty ring and I cannt find it anywhere. Please can you tell me where you bought it? I will wish your son potty trained twice as fast if you can help. Thanks

Leave a Reply

