On Recognizing What You Have

I, like any other person, have those moments when I question life.  I second guess myself, where I am at in life, and where I plan to go from here.    Sometimes when I have a bad day, I have a bad day.  Sometimes this segues into bad month…then what comes next?  A bad year?

Who wants to be stuck in that loop?  I know I have been there PLENTY of times – though maybe not a whole year.  This year, I have taken myself to hand and am really trying to focus on and recognize how much I already have and how lucky I really am.  I have a really great life, all things considered.

I have a super amazing child.  My son is so smart!  And adorable!  And, I have one of those kids who is super cuddly and love-y almost all of the time.  He knows his numbers and his ABC’s; he’s super funny; and when we watch movies together, he holds hands with me!  Who needs to go out on a date when I already have the best date ever?!  Not me!

I have already met the love of my life!

I have a great job that I sincerely enjoy.  I love my job!  I am fully aware that in this economy, in this job market, and after working at the Retail Store, that I am one of the luckiest people on EARTH!  To work with people I get along with, who are always willing to pitch in and lend a hand to each other, who don’t complain about every little thing, and to sincerely be interested in what I do – it’s amazing, and make me really enjoy getting to work every morning, even if I struggle with punctuality!  And unlike at the Retail Store, which was “just a job” that helped me pay my bills, this is my career.  (Which I hope will lead me to another career.)

A day in the life.

I have a relatively reliable automobile.  I have a 1999 Chevy Cavalier.  It is not the best car in the world, but it is fairly reliable; it gets me from point A to point B; and, apparently, if you ignore the “check engine” light long enough, that light just shuts off.  (Win-win situation for both my car and I.  Probably.) The trunk only opens sometimes, and the keyless entry only works in certain temperatures.  But really, it does what I need it to do.  Now, let’s all knock on wood, just in case I have jinxed it.

Here she is – except imagine a yellow bumper, a banged up rear fender, and  missing hubcap. Classy!

I have some of the BEST friends anywhere.  Hands down – I would not give up or trade my friends for anything.  They celebrate with me when something good happens.  They support me even when I make stupid decisions and poor choices.  They are there for me when I am sad.  They do not judge me, or if they do, they do it behind my back like a good friend should.  *Wink.*  They are a vital part of my life, and I am so lucky to have such supportive wonderful people in my life.  Here’s lookin’ at you, ladies!

I would include a roof over my head, food to eat, and the rest of the basics of life, but my neighbors sort of scare me some days, and really anger me on others; I live a block and a half from a super scary trailer park; and I need to replenish the contents of my refrigerator.

But all-in-all, even those things I have, and I am grateful to have them.  How lucky am I?!

One thought on “On Recognizing What You Have

Leave a Reply

