On What I Would Do “If I Had a Million Dollars”

How many are familiar with this song?  I, personally, love this song.  It is fun, uplifting, and really makes me think about what I would do if my income were disposable, and/or if I really had a million dollars.

I was discussing this with my friend, R, yesterday, and we had a good laugh over my number one “would-do”, if I did, in fact, have a million dollars.

If I had a million dollars, I would never do the dishes again for the rest of my life.  No – I would not buy a dishwasher; rather, I would just buy a new set of brand new, shiny, never before eaten off of dishes every time I ran out of clean ones.  I really, really hate doing dishes.

Never again!

If I had a million dollars, I would buy books!  I would basically create a friggin’ library in my home.  You would probably not see me for days, weeks, months even because I would be so caught up in the glory of books and of reading said books that I would not emerge from my library for that long.  And when I finally do emerge, I will be pale, pasty, and stick-thin from never seeing the sun and forgetting to eat because of my enthrallment with lovely, delicious, amazing BOOKS!

Like this only I would have a bajillion times more books than I currently have, though.

If I had a million dollars, I would buy Q-bear all the toy cars he wants, and I would build a room for him to play with them in so I would not have to pick them up all of the time.

Kid’s got a LOT of cars.

If I had a million dollars, I would buy the best DSLR that money could buy and really learn how to photograph pictures.  I would subsequently make prints and sell them for millions of dollars, thus ensuring that my million dollars never ran out, and my income became truly disposable.

 

Some of my personal favorites nature photos that I have taken.

If I had a million dollars, I would do many, many more things, too.  I would take my entire extended family to lunch, or on vacation!  I would pay all outstanding bills in my name, including school bills.  I would pay off everyone’s I know school bills, in fact.  I would buy a year’s supply of food – or donate money straight up – for people in the local community who work hard to earn a living, but still cannot manage to make ends’ meet.  I know that money cannot buy happiness, but it could really go a long way toward easing my worries, and those of others, in order for me to pursue that which WOULD make me happy.  Either way, no matter how much money I will ever have, I will always be a bargain shopper and probably will not pay more than fifteen dollars for a shirt or twenty bucks for a pair of jeans.  In other words, no matter my monetary situation, bargain shopping is in my genes. Get it?

What would you do if you had a million dollars?

Leave a Reply

