On the Turnout of My Impromptu Date – Part 1

Oh hey again internet.  Remember, I had a date, and I was nervous that I was going to be murdered?  I wasn’t.  I made it there and back in one piece, and safe and sound.  🙂

Let me tell you a little about my date.  He’s from Winnipeg.  Yup, he’s Canadian.  It went like this:

We started chatting quite randomly by this mobile dating app called Skout.  [I know, I know, I said I was done attempting to use that route, but I figured, I have nothing to lose so maybe a different media will work.]  Now usually, I don’t talk to anyone if they aren’t local.  So the fact that he was from so far away was a little off-putting, at first.  But you don’t get to know people if you don’t give them a chance, I guess, so I chatted back.  [It didn’t hurt that he is a total cutie. ;)]

We started talking about music at some point.  I love talking music, not because I am some big music aficionado, but because it’s fairly easy to find some common ground that way.  And he mentioned he was going to the aforementioned Childish Gambino concert.  I had honestly never heard of this persona of Donald Glover’s before, but I looked him up on YouTube, and really liked the music.  So Mr. Winnipeg said maybe I could come to the concert, too.  This was all very sudden.  First, I had only had this handy app for less than a day, and suddenly a possible date was looming in the horizon, with a guy who seems to fit my requirements:

  1. Someone intelligent, i.e. no poor grammar, does not make ignorant, racist remarks, etc.
  2. Somone who is not wasting their intelligence;
  3. Someone who does not have facial tattoos;
  4. Someone who is self-supporting;
  5. Someone who is clean cut and takes care of himself;
  6. Someone who can keep up with my wit;
  7. Someone age appropriate [“babies” need not apply anymore, please];
  8. And obviously, someone I find attractive.
These aren’t difficult or overly strenuous requirements to meet [except maybe the last one since each person’s definition of attractive isn’t the same], but it appears to me that at a certain point in life, the men that seem to think I am somehow in their dating league, some men seem to just give up themselves, be it physically or intellectually, or worse, both, and those are the men that apparently want to talk to me.  I am not saying I am a super model, but I am pretty confident in saying I am a cute, intelligent girl who takes care of herself for the most part.  I require someone who can match that.  If nothing else, based on initial meeting, I can disqualify someone based on initial appearances/conversation alone.  A first impression is incredibly important.
So, he suggested to me a couple of days in advance that I meet him and go to the concert with him and his friends, and I was unsure.  You all know, I am highly paranoid that if I ever were to meet someone from something like that, that I would get kidnapped or murdered.  But, the more I talked to Mr. Winnipeg, the more I was intrigued, and the more I realized, I wanted to meet him!  How about that!  Didn’t think, ever in a million, that I’d actually want to meet someone I talked to on a dating website/app.  Surprise, surprise, I was wrong.  [Sometimes, I am, you know.  ;)]  Even though I wanted to go, I was still EXTREMELY hesitant.  So I called up Ms. R and asked her opinion.  What did she think?  Should I do it?  I told her what I knew: his name, where he was from, sent her a picture of what he looked like.  Yes, she said, I think you should be careful, but you should go.
Decision made.  I said yes I will meet you; yes, I will go to the concert with you.  Those of you who know me in person know that I rarely, if ever, take impromptu trips, except once to Iowa and that was to visit one of my best friends.  So, this is out of the ordinary behavior for me.  As a mom, I try not to take many, if any, risks these days with my health or life.  Not that I really did before, but I mean, I don’t have more than one drink if I’m going to drive, and I don’t change my clothes in the car while driving like I used to – small things like that, that could prove to be potentially dangerous.  This concert/meeting was a new level of bravery for me.
I was super excited, though.  I was really looking forward to it.  We made a plan to meet at 8 just inside the doors of the venue for the concert, and we would wait for the other in case one of us was late.  I got to the venue, and realized I forgot to grab my ticket out of my car.  So, I went back, grabbed it, and was inside at promptly 8.  Ask me how I managed to be on time, I will never be able to explain that phenomenon.  So I waited.  And I waited.

2 thoughts on “On the Turnout of My Impromptu Date – Part 1

  1. Okay, now I’m waiting impatiently for part 2… =)

    Advice from the sidelines: if you ever are meeting a stranger like that and want more security, tell *him* that you’ve told someone else what you know about him. If he knows you’ve set safety measures in place, it’s another bit of security against the average crazy.

Leave a Reply

