On Self-Confidence and Character

In a multitude of discussions with my closest cousin, who coincidentally is male, we have determined that the young women of today need more confidence.  It’s a bit of an epidemic if you ask me.  I wholeheartedly feel that if there were a plethora of self-confident young women – self-confident in the RIGHT way and for the RIGHT reasons, there wouldn’t be as many orange colored, duck-face making, too drunk young women running around trying to gain the attention of ANY male who looked her way.  Adding to that, I think that more women would be able to recognize the quality young men that are already a part of their lives.

Maybe it would snowball from there?  Maybe, then, the STD rate would be lower, or there wouldn’t be as many single young women out there with multiple children who they can’t adequately support, or simply, there would be more women who walk with their heads held high because they KNOW they have worth.

I, like any other girl woman female person, have moments where I doubt myself, have what I call “a low self-esteem” day.  Who doesn’t?  But, I can honestly say that while there are things that I would like to improve upon in my life, if I were to stay exactly where I am at right now, in this moment, I would be proud to live the rest of my life where I am at.  I am comfortable with me, with my career, with my accomplishments.

Maybe it’s an age thing, maybe it’s a “come to terms with you are” thing, maybe it’s simply that I stopped trying to gain other people’s approval and realized that the first person who needs to be proud of me, is me.  Or maybe it’s because I am raising a son, and I’ll be damned if I’m not going to raise a respectful, polite, honest young man.

Sure, I want a new car, and I’d like to get my law degree, and I have braces, and I live in a two bedroom apartment.  But those are accomplish-able goals, not character defects.  My character, I feel, is solid.  My self-confidence is high.  I am who I am.

I wish I could convey this message to all young people, and especially to young women:

Search within yourself.  Find and recognize in yourself something of worth.  Whatever that thing may be, be proud of that thing.  And believe others when they tell you that you are someone to be proud of and that you do, in fact, have worth.

[Especially if it’s your cousin who tells you that and who isn’t shy of sharing her honest opinion; she doesn’t waste time giving false compliments to people.  ;)]

4 thoughts on “On Self-Confidence and Character

  1. Really, this applies to everyone – age and gender are only details for the fine-grained specifics, but the steel core of it holds true for everyone.

    Thanks for the reminder; it’s too easy to be self-critical and take our worthiness for granted.

    1. I agree with your assessment. 🙂

      There is SOMETHING in everyone that is worth something to someone else. [Ya get all that?! Haha!]

      I’m glad I could give you that reminder. 🙂

    1. You know what they say about great minds…
      they’re great.

      Just kidding – they think alike! 🙂

      I have been a terrible blog follower and have blogged and run, but I will be sure to go read your posts and catch up on you! 😀

Leave a Reply

